The San Diego Music Hall of Fame will induct 6 artists, artisans, including Beat Farmers


Musician Lisa Sanders. Photo credit:

The San Diego Music Hall of Fame inducts six new members in a ceremony at Ocean Beach on Friday, including the Beat Farmers and two well-known local experts in instrument making.

Newbreak Church, 4694 Cape May Ave., hosts the event at 7 p.m.

Inductees include:

  • The Beat Farmers, formed locally almost 40 years ago. The rockabilly and blues band had a dedicated following for several years before Country drummer and sometimes singer Dick Montana died in 1995.
  • DJ Carlos Culture, aka Carlos Torres, who for three decades has helped bands, promoters and artists support the OB music scene and beyond. You could hear reggae playing on Wednesdays at Winston’s in OB or at 94.9’s Reggae on Sunday mornings. He passed away in 2020.
  • The Deering family, who, five years after Greg Deering joined other enterprising students at the American Dream Co-Op in 1970 to repair instruments and make banjos, opened the Deering Banjo Company in Spring Valley. Greg has partnered with his wife Janet for the business.
  • Kurt Listug and Bob Taylor, who joined in 1974 to buy the little guitar shop where they worked, turning it into Taylor Guitars in El Cajon. The company, with sales in 60 countries, now employs 1,200 people and is also located in Tecate.
  • Lisa Sanders, singer and collaborator who has worked with major artists including Al Green, BB King and Bonnie Raitt, while creating her own label. She has released seven collections of her country blues soul sounds, including five on her label, Maya Jade.
  • Yale Strom, who over more than three decades and 75 research expeditions has grown to become one of the world’s foremost artist-ethnographers of klezmer music and history. He focused on the post-war period.

Beat Farmers’ Sanders, Strom and Jerry Raney, along with their son Nathan, are scheduled to perform, along with Walt Richards, Rob Deez and Gato Papacitos. Jefferson Jay, founder of the San Diego Musicians Collective, serves as host.

Tickets for the show cost $ 40.

Past inductees include songwriter Jack Tempchin, singer / songwriter Jason Mraz, jazz saxophonist Charles McPherson and singer Eve Selis.

Show comments


Comments are closed.