Rod Abernethy Wins Top Honors at 17th Annual Acoustic Music Awards



Critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Rod Abernethy wins honors at the 17th IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards). He also won the Best Folk / Americana / Roots award.

Hailing from Raleigh, North Carolina, Rod Abernethy is a unique blend of an authentic Southern folk troubadour, master acoustic guitarist and award-winning composer for film, television and video games. Grand Prize Winner of the Bob Dylan American Songwriter Competition, his latest album “The Man I’m Supposed To Be” features both songs and instrumentals that revolve around family, friends and places. of the Great South. Rod’s new album “Normal Isn’t Normal Anymore” produced by Grammy nominated producer Neilson Hubbard (Mary Gauthier, Ben Glover, Kim Richey) was recorded at Skinny Elephant Recording in Nashville TN and released on February 5, 2021.

“I was blown away today to learn that I won these IAMA Grand Prizes. To be recognized among some of the world’s most talented musical artists is such an honor. Competing this year in all categories was amazing and still can’t believe it I won the Global Grand Prix and Best of Folk / Roots. It’s a day I’ll never forget – thank you IAMA! “said Rod Abernethy, the big winner of this year.

Other notable laureates include Grammy-winning songwriter and artist Frank J. Myers; he won the award for best country / bluegrass. Virtuoso guitarist Al Di Meola, Alex Sino and Leonid Agutin were finalists in the Best Group category. Successful artist Bertie Higgins was also a finalist in the Best Folk category.

Here is the list of the winners of the 17th edition of IAMA:

Overall Grand Prize Winner
Rod Abernethy “My father was a calm man” by Rod Abernethy

FIRST PRIZE: “Fourteen Days” by John McMillan
RUNNER-UP: “A Thousand Days Like This” by David Clarke

FIRST PRIZE: “Full Moon” by Diane Patterson
RUNNER-UP: “Glass Ceilings” by Joanie Leeds

FIRST PRIZE: “Bed of Waves” by Marco Perfetti
RUNNER-UP: “Lighthouse” by Simon Söfelde

FIRST PRIZE: “My Father Was a Quiet Man” by Rod Abernethy
RUNNER-UP: “Say Can You See” by Scott Cook

FIRST PRIZE: “Thar sem enginn fer” by rstíðir
RUNNER-UP: “Jesus Had The Blues” by Danny Brooks & Lil Miss Debi

FIRST PRIZE: “The Last Cowboy in Hutchinson County” by James Baker
RUNNER-UP: “Lose Your Soul” by Dave Berg

FIRST PRIZE: “Not the only one in this town” by Brooke Hatala
FINAL: “Whaling petticoats” by Éilís Kennedy

FIRST PRIZE: “Dieu a ça” by Frank Myers
RUNNER-UP: “Cold November Rain” by Downhill Bluegrass Band

ABOUT IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards)
IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards) promotes the art and art of performance and the art of acoustic music. In its 18th year, IAMA has a proven track record of winning winners who have been signed to and achieved the Billboard Charts. Notable winners include Ellis Paul, Jonatha Brooke, David Francey, AJ Croce and more. Meghan Trainor was discovered by IAMA nine years ago and is now a worldwide phenomenon with the # 1 Billboard Hot 100 Charts hit with “All About That Bass” (# 1 for 8 weeks) and # 1 of the Billboard 200 Charts with its debut. the album “Title”, won a Grammy Award for Best New Artist. The winning song by 2nd Annual IAMA Laureate Zane Williams was recorded by country music star Jason Michael Carroll, this song reached No. 14 on the Billboard Country Charts and No. 99 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts. Jeff Gutt, finalist of the 9th edition of IAMA, was a finalist on X-Factor USA. Charlie Dore (known for her hit “Pilot of the Airwaves”) was the big winner in 2008. Information on the winners and finalists, visit:



Comments are closed.