Jason Mraz, POD, and Hot Snakes among 2019 San Diego Music Awards Top Nominees


Grammy Award-winning troubadour Jason Mraz is one of the top nominees for the 2019 San Diego Music Awards, which will be held on March 11 at the House of Blues downtown. Tickets go on sale Monday.

Mraz, who will perform at the All Ages Awards Ceremony, is nominated for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year (for “Know”) and Song of the Year (for “Have It All”).

Veteran San Diego bands POD, The Frights and Hot Snakes are nominated in the same three categories as Mraz, while The Redwoods Revue is nominated for Artist of the Year and two other categories. Hot Snakes, co-directed by Rocket From The Crypt mainstay John Reis, released their first new album in 14 years last year.

Artists who won two nominations each included Slightly Stoopid, blues vocal dynamo Whitney Shay, Earthless (whose drummer, Mario Rubalcaba, is a Rocket From The Crypt alumnus), Schizophonics, Peter Sprague, The Havnauts, pianist of boogie-woogie and conductor. Sue Palmer and Trouble in the Wind, who topped the 2018 San Diego Music Awards with three wins.

In addition to Mraz, POD, Hot Snakes and Slightly Stoopid, other Artist of the Year nominees include Shay, The Frights and The Redwoods Revue. A full list of nominees across the 23 categories appears below.

The recipient of the Country Dick Montana Lifetime Achievement Award has yet to be announced.

The winners of the 2019 San Diego Music Awards, the event’s 28th edition, will be announced at the House of Blues ceremony on March 11. Confirmed artists include The Redwoods Revue, Vokab Kompany, Veronica May, Ariel Levine, the Casey Hensley Band and Shane Hall, all of whom will be performing at the awards ceremony for the first time.

All-new Java Joe’s All Stars, starring Mraz, Gregory Page, Jeff Berkley and Billy Galewood, who played until 2016 as Bushwalla and is a longtime friend of Mraz are also set to perform.

“I called Jason to see if he would like to present a prize, and he said, ‘What if we play?’ said Kevin Hellman, founder of the San Diego Music Awards. “I said, ‘Of course!’ ”

The San Diego Music Awards are sponsored by Taylor Guitars and, for the first time, Ballast Point Brewing Company.

Online voting for this year’s edition will run from January 28 to February 17 at sandiegomusicawards.com. Audiences can vote in all categories except the top nine album categories. These are voted on by members of the nonprofit San Diego Music Academy, which includes area concert promoters, talent buyers, radio station veterans, and other industry professionals.

The awards show is presented under the auspices of the academy, which was launched in 1991. It has so far raised $ 615,317 for the foundation’s Guitars for Schools program, according to Hellman. Over the past three decades, the program has provided free instruments and lessons to 57,200 students at 71 schools in San Diego County.

Tickets for the 2019 San Diego Music Awards are priced at $ 36 (standing), $ 40 (reserved seating on the balcony), and $ 75 (reserved seating in front of the stage), plus a service charge. They go on sale Monday at sandiegomusicawards.com/buy-tickets and, starting Tuesday, at the House of Blues box office.

Singer Whitney Shay is one of the 2019 San Diego Music Awards nominees for Artist of the Year.

(Photo by Andy King)

Nominated for the 2019 San Diego Music Awards

Artist of the year

Hot snakes

Jason mraz


Redwoods review

Slightly stoopid

The fears

Whitney shay

Song of the year

Without land, “Gifted by the wind”

Hot snakes, “Six Wave Hold Down”

Jason Mraz, “Have It All”

POD, “Listening to silence”

Slightly Stoopid, “Too Late (Stick Figure Remix)”

The fears, “Over It”

The Petty Saints, “troublemakers”

Album of the year

Without land, “black sky”

Hot snakes, “Jericho Sirens”

Jason Mraz, “Know”

Peter Sprague and Randy Phillips, “Sparks and Seeds”

POD, “Circles”

Planet B, “Planet B”

Slightly Stoopid, “Everyday Life, Everyday People”

Best New Artist

Warriors Babydoll

Julia Sage and the Wicked Men

Miss New Buddha

Pocket hole

The color forty-nine

The Havnauts


Best singer-songwriter

Evan Diamond

Jessica lerner

Miss Alcazar

Jimmy ruelas

Nina Francois

Sarah rogo

Shane Room

Best Jazz

Ed kornhauser

Erika Davies

Euphoria Brass Band

Sue Palmer and her Motel Swing Band

Gilbert Castellanos

Joshua White

Nathan Hubbard

Best Jazz Album

Christopher Hollyday, “Telepathy”

Strings Danny Green Trio Plus, “One Day It Will”

Ira B. Liss Big Band Jazz Machine, “Tasty Tunes”

Joe Garrison, “The Broken Pot”

Mattson 2, “Supreme Love”

Quintet of Montalban, “Under the river”

String trio Peter Sprague, “Samba Andaluza”

Best blues

Bill Magee Blues Band

Casey hensley

Covered wagon chief

Low tension

Mercedes moore

Robin henkel

Stéphanie Brown and the surrealists

Best blues album

Black Market III, “Dashboard Jesus”

Blue Largo, “Before the Devil Steals Your Soul”

Low voltage, “Roam With You”

S. Mathias, “Route des wagons”

Sue Palmer, “Gems, Vol. 1”

The Wayne Riker Trio, “Blues Breakout”

Whitney Shay, “A Woman Rules the World”

Best Country or Americana

Blind Mountain Holler

Step into the blue sky


Nathan Raney

Sara Petite

Stephen el rey

Problem in the wind

Best Country or American Album

Barbed wire, “Long difficult course”

Berkley Hart, “While the Night is Still Young”

Jonny Wagon and The Tennessee Sons, “Feeling Good to Be Alive”

Nitro Express, “in the countryside”

Shakedown String Band, “In the Key of OB”

The color forty-nine, “The color forty-nine”

Trouble In The Wind, “Hammer On”

Best hip-hop / rap

Blood stone

Direct message

DJ Pnutz

MDN and Rick B

Parker Meridian

Microphone doctors

Vokab Company

Best Hip-Hop / Rap Album

Def Shon, “Preparing my time machine”

DreCat, “Made in Daygo”

ill Nicky, “Viola”

Parker Meridien, “Twentyfist Street Sessions”

Riston Diggs, “Supreme Confidence”

Rob $ tone, “Young Rob $ tone”

Tulengua, “Baja Funk”

Best Indie / Alternative

Ariel levine

Aviator’s stash

Coral bells

Moon of dead feathers

Imaging machine

The Basics

wild wild wet

Best Independent / Alternative Album

Nights like thieves, “Sophomore Slump”

Fears, “hypochondriacs”

The gift machine, “New Tangles”

The Gloomies, “Romance”

The silent comedy, “Enemies multiply”

The Verigolds, “Sea of ​​Zebras”

Warsaw, “Son”

Best Pop

Birdy bardot

Creatures Canyon

Dani Bell and the Tarentist


The mitts

tori rose and the hot mess

Good good good

Best Pop Album or EP

Becca Jay, “Queen of Hearts”

Corina Rose, “Our love is freedom”

Day trip, “Day trip”

Lee Coulter, “Earthlee”

Pocket hole, “marine layer”

Tory Roze & The Hot Mess, “Baggage Claim”

Veronica May, “Teaser”

Best rock

Great Electric Quest



Taken by Canadians


the notches

Strawberry moons

Best Rock Album or EP

Bad Kids, “Thoughtful”

Creature Canyon, “Did you want this”

Electric mud, “Highway refugees”

Stone horse, “I must come back”

Donkeys, “Youth damaged by the sun”

The Farmers, “SD Farmers”

Les Frettes, “Les Frettes”

Best music in the world

B-side players

Binational mambo orchestra



Tribal seeds

Split finger

Tribal theory

World’s Best Music Album

Boost, “fried neck bones”

Crucial mix, “Enough already”

Fluid foundation, “Slo Ryde”

Marujah, “Bad Hombres Live at Brando’s Paradise”

Broken Consort by Yale Strom, “Shimmering Lights, Hanukkah Music”

The Quintet Camarada Tango, “Tango San Diego”

Amalgamated, “Premium Quality”

Best local recording

Forest grove, “forest grove”

MC Flow, “His Highness”

Spice guns, “Life is a brake”

Finnegan Blue, “Finnegan Blue”

Dirty Pennies, “Dirty Pennies”

The Havnauts, “Go on!”

The Tighten Ups, “Tighten It Up”

Best Live Performer


Sully and the Souljahs

The creepy crawlers

The collective of redwoods

Sure Fire Soul Set


Whitney shay

Twitter @georgevarga

[email protected]


Comments are closed.